Austin News


Complete Director Roster For The ABCs Of Death Announced

Magnet Pictures, Timpson Films and Drafthouse Films finalize lineup of today's leading genre filmmakers, including recent signees Jon Schnepp of Metalocalypse fame and Jose Michel Grau (WE ARE WHAT WE ARE), and TBA contest winner to director THE ABCs OF DEATH.

Complete Director Roster For The ABCs Of Death Announced

Today Drafthouse Films, Magnet Pictures and Timpson Films announced the full roster of directors signed on to participate in the international co-production THE ABCs OF DEATH, an anthology horror film featuring segments directed by over two dozen leading talents in contemporary genre film from around the world. The feature is comprised of 26 individual episodes, each helmed by a different director assigned a letter of the alphabet inspiring a single word about death. Currently in pre-production, the film’s producers reserved the 26th director slot for a worldwide contest to find tomorrow’s next great horror filmmaker. The contest ends October 1st.

In May 2011, the film’s producers announced that enlisted directors were to include Jason Eisener (HOBO WITH A SHOTGUN), Ti West (HOUSE OF THE DEVIL and the upcoming THE INNKEEPERS), Ben Wheatley (SXSW 2011 favorite KILL LIST), Srdjan Spasojevic of A SERBIAN FILM infamy, and 18 others. Joining the roster are recent signees Jon Schnepp (co-director of Adult Swim’s epic animated series Metalocalypse) and Jorge Michel Grau, whose jarring 2010 cannibal drama SOMOS LO QUE HAY (WE ARE WHAT WE ARE) garnered a great deal of notice and established him as one of the more fearless rising filmmakers of the era.

"Having Jon Schnepp onboard is really going to bring some anarchic diversity to the project," says co-producer Ant Timpson. "His work on Metapocalypse, The Venture Bros and Aqua Teen Hunger Force shows that he is the real deal; a supremely multi-talented guy with a unique perspective and set of skills to match."

"Jorge Michel Grau won top honors, the 'Next Wave' award, at last year's Fantastic Fes for his feature WE ARE WHAT WE ARE. We are delighted that this visionary filmmaker is joining our already strong roster," says co-producer Tim League.

The following is the list of participating directors, along with their countries of origin and a reference title from each of their filmographies:

  • Kaare Andrews (ALTITUDE), USA
  • Angela Bettis (ROMAN), USA
  • Ernesto Diaz Espinoza (MIRAGEMAN, MANDRILL), Chile
  • Jason Eisener (HOBO WITH A SHOTGUN), Canada
  • Bruno Forzani & Héléne Cattet (AMER), Belgium
  • Adrian Garcia Bogliano (COLD SWEAT), Argentina
  • Xavier Gens (FRONTIERS; HITMAN), France
  • Jorge Michel Grau (WE ARE WHAT WE ARE), Mexico
  • Noburo Iguchi (ROBO GEISHA), Japan
  • Thomas Malling (NORWEGIAN NINJA), Norway
  • Anders Morgenthaler (PRINCESS), Denmark
  • Yoshihrio Nishimura (TOKYO GORE POLICE), Japan
  • Banjong Pisathanakun (SHUTTER), Thailand
  • Simon Rumley (RED, WHITE & BLUE), UK
  • Marcel Sarmiento (DEADGIRL), USA
  • Jon Schnepp (Metalocalypse; The Venture Bros.), USA
  • Srdjan Spasojevic (A SERBIAN FILM), Serbia
  • Timo Tjahjanto (MACABRE), Indonesia
  • Andrew Traucki (THE REEF), Australia
  • Nacho Vigalondo (TIMECRIMES), Spain
  • Jake West (DOGHOUSE), UK
  • Ben Wheatley (DOWN TERRACE; KILL LIST), UK
  • Yudai Yamaguchi (YAKUZA WEAPON), Japan

Visit the Facebook page for news and updates:


blog comments powered by Disqus